• Accessibility Dropdown
  • Social Medias
    • Facebook Page
    • Twitter Page
    • Youtube Page
  • Sitemap
  • Language


Prior to the bifurcation both the District Kargil and Leh of Ladakh region were directly under the administrative control of Directorate of Social Welfare Kashmir and now after the reorganization of erstwhile State of Jammu and Kashmir on 31 October 2019, by GoI into two Union Territories viz. Union Territory of J&K and Union Territory of Ladakh. Directorate of Social Welfare Ladakh came into existence in the Year 2019, headquarter based at Kurbathang Plateau, District- Kargil UT Ladakh. The Directorate is headed by Director who is assisted by District Social Welfare Officer and Account Officer and other allied staff.

Objectives of the Department

Social Welfare Department has a mandate to work for the upliftment and development of downtrodden and the weaker section of the society with broader objectives:-

  • Providing Social Security to the Older Persons, Physically Challenged/Differently Able Person and the Widow/Destitute Women across the Union Territory of Ladakh through different schemes and programme implementing under Social Welfare Department by the Central Government and the respective Union Territories.
  • To help the students who belongs to the weaker section of the societies for pursuing their studies both educational and professional goals under different schemes being implemented by Government of India.
  • Imparted Vocational Training and Capacity Building Programme to the unemployed and less educated women to enhance their skill for earning dignified livelihood through self sustainability.
  • Providing Prosthetic Aid to the Differently Able Person with meager family income to alleviate their hard.